An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

River Earn...

Tested my crumbling tooth with granola for breakfast and it seems stable enough.  I phoned the dentist at 9am.  The tooth isn't hurting so it's not considered an emergency.  The first available appointment with my dentist is 23rd April!  I took it because I was worried they would give me an appointment with the other dentist whose dental chair is a nightmare! It's the Faulty Towers of dental chairs!  It tilts so far back I feel I’m sliding off it then it snaps back into the upright position almost catapulting me out the window!  If I feel it’s getting worse or at the merest hint of pain, I’ll phone for an emergency appointment.  

As it was such a lovely morning D suggested we go out for lunch.  Didn't have to ask me twice.  Decided to go a bit further afield and headed to Murthly and the lovely Uisage restaurant.  I've only been twice, once with my friend Gill and once with D, but that was pre-covid.  It is as lovely as we remembered with friendly and efficient staff (our waitress was a delight.  Young and enthusiastic) and the food was delicious. And reasonably priced.  Can't ask more than that.

It was a rather leisurely lunch and we eventually got home just before 4pm.

The mount I'd ordered for the frame for Agnes's painting arrived over a week ago so D looked out the frame and to my relief the mount fits.  But....there's always a but...I completely miscalculated the width of the frame (it's panoramic) and just assumed a full size imperial sheet of watercolour paper would be wide enough to fit.  It's not!  Sigh

In order to get a sheet of watercolour paper wide enough I would have to buy a roll of paper and cut to size, and the cheapest price of a roll is £128, so that won't be happening.  I've now ordered a slightly smaller frame with a mount that is 3cm smaller all round than an imperial size sheet of watercolour paper.  A much cheaper solution and still a decent size painting.

Neither of us wanted any dinner and as D headed out to his group singing rehearsal I had a cuppa and got some crocheting of the wedding blanket done.  Also chatted online to my friend Mae, who is off to Australia tomorrow to meet her new little granddaughter who's now seven weeks old.  

I sent a little gift for her to take (two children's books with a Scottish slant :-) and I am delighted they arrived in time as they were only posted on Saturday.  Mae's eldest son committed suicide in 2019 (he was 28) and as you can imagine, she's been drowning in grief since.  This little grandchild has brought a little of her spark back and it is wonderful to see and hear.  This new little life has brought some healing to her heart.  I can't wait to see photos of her cuddling that wee bundle for the first time :-))

D home now and we're both a little peckish so a slice of toast and a cuppa is in order.

Oh and re. my confusion yesterday regarding the whereabouts of my alcohol inks, I had a eureka moment this morning and remembered where they were.  Hopefully create something with them later in the week.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.