Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Farm sale

Joan told me about this farm sale, high up above Simonburn, and she volunteered to come and look after Mum while I went with my camera.

I arrived early and sat in the car for a while. It was very cold. The field containing the farm equipment was exposed, with not a tree in sight. No protection from the weather.

I found the barn with the tools. Slightly warmer. Gradually more people arrived. I had several fascinating conversations.

A very deaf, elderly farmer had two hips replaced 10 years ago, he told me that they needed doing again. “They’ve worn out”. When I showed him my camera, he said the only picture I would get of him was the back of his head!

One man told me that the weather today made “all men equal”!

Farmers came from near and far (as far as County Durham and Cumbria). The place was buzzing. Neighbouring farmers said they were there just to see what was for sale. No one would tell me what they were going to bid for.

One woman told me about “weird things” happening. She is having messages from God in the form of rainbows, moonbows and cloud formations. It started when a family member was seriously ill. He died, but the messages continue and the vicar says they are from God. This was a most unexpected encounter, but, as you know, lots of people talk to me.

My blip is taken early on, when the small items in the barn were being sold. After that, the whole company moved into the fields and walked from lot to lot with the auctioneer. He is an experienced auctioneer from Hexham Mart.

I tried hard to see who was bidding. It was almost impossible. Once he knew who was bidding, the auctioneer just glanced from one to another, looking for a slight movement of a facial muscle!

Internet bids were also active.

I took loads of photos. This is the first I have processed. It was a brilliant morning despite being chilled to the bones.

I did sleep in the chair this afternoon!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.