Capital adventures

By marchmont

The bear and I

Started the day in the Hard Rock Café with a G&T. Terminal 1, KLIA appears to be going through a major upgrade with new ships and brands on the way but it will never be a shopper's paradise. The plane was boarded and ready to go by 2.20 but first we had to wait for air traffic clearance and then there was over an hour's delay as a passenger took unwell and after some treatment in the galley behind me he and his luggage and to be offloaded.

The flight was ok, made bearable by the fact that after some self medication for my back that was screaming from the uncomfortable seats I slept for about 4 hours. By the time we got to Doha, after 4, there was only time to go to the gate. It was such a relief to be on the second, larger and more comfortable Airbus. 

We left on time (20 mins taxi from the gate to the runway) and arrived 10 minutes early at 12.30..With it being a daylight flight the cabin lights weren't completely dimmed. I watch Barbenheimer, with the long one being first and then a Meg Ryan/David Duchovny romcom. 

Edinburgh was dreich and grey when we arrived. No queues at the Border and I was out, waiting for Y at the pick up point by 1.15 p.m.   

Spent too long in the kitchen hearing N's immigration woes before she went out. I unpacked and put past my belongings and moved things in the kitchen back to where they should be. Willow isn't b speaking to me and appears to have put on weight. Too many Dreamies, I'm guessing. 

Decided not to cook the food N had kindly left but went with Plan A, fish 'n chips. Tried to phone the hospital but the lines were down. Opened the mail, including some Christmas cards, and as I began to flag went to bed just after 8. I had been in the go 28 hours today. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.