Marionb

By Marionb

Sundown

I didn't make the sunrise this morning,  but made up for it by going down to the lake at sunset; there is usually no-one around for the sunrise but, perhaps being March Break and a day where the temperatures reached 18-20C, I should not have been surprised that the crowds had gathered! the place was full of people..... fishermen, walkers, bikers, rollerbladers, sunset watchers.. There were no parking spots left at the shore, so I retreated to the yacht club harbour which generously provided  me with some photo-ops. .. so all was not lost. 

My day was supposed to be spent preparing for book club - making up the lunch menu, shopping for it, and then reviewing the book; I tend to read the book so far ahead that when book club day arrives, I have forgotten most of it!  Well, I did the food prep thing, but never got around to reviewing the book - as I was distracted by that quilt on my sewing room wall....

Geez..I should never have gone in there...I went in to sew up a couple of those nasty little diamond blocks for the current border I am working on...and then got worrying about the next borders...The fun never ends...The pattern is in a  Kaffe Fassett book but I decided to use different fabrics and colours..and oh yes, to eliminate some rows as the pattern is too big for the quilt to hang on my living room wall..

And therein lies the rub...

What colours? what fabrics? ( extra) I have a narrow solid border next which is manageable colour-wise, but then? I was hoping to leave out Kaffe's  next row  - same old diamond blocks - just bigger...but today I realized that if I did, it could mean the math won't work for the outer blocks I intend to do! Oh what a tangled web we weave when first we try to change the Rules of Kaffe! 

Well, that took a couple of hours and I got nowhere..and it appears that now I will have to review the book club book tomorrow morning....That should be a rush! 
  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.