carliewired

By carliewired

66 F/ 19 F

My backyard birds did
not disappoint me - It must
be my pajamas! 

~carliewired

I was enjoying my coffee with blueberry galette before the sun was up. I'd used the chilly day yesterday to bake my pie and add some heat to the house. I haven't had the heat on for about 3 weeks but yesterday it needed some heat. And today, I'm enjoying the pie. 

I was backyard birding again after breakfast. I sat in my usual chair by the backdoor and within minutes I had birds arriving for portraits. I'm sure the purple pajamas are the attraction for them.

The house finch and his Mrs. were flitting from tree to tree keeping quite close to each other. A white crowned sparrow scoured the ground near the bougainvillea. I wondered what he could be finding there besides ants. Just as I was to pop back inside, a silent mockingbird landed on the wall. It wasn't until I checked the photo that I realized it was carrying something. I wonder if it is nesting now. 

The bougainvillea and lantana continue to bloom abundantly as they do this time of season. I don't water in the winter so it's all due to the generous rainfall we've had.

Blip done, I can now settle to some jobs that need doing before I leave. I'm in for the day. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.