talloplanic views

By Arell

Survivors

While out on my bike in town today I came across another ghost sign, this time for a long-gone confectioner in Dalry.  It wasn't a great looking photograph though.  I went in search of another ghost sign I'd heard about not far away, but I couldn't find it anywhere.  I think the shop might have already covered it with a new frontage.

Later on while ambling through Morningside I stopped at the Dominion Cinema to see if the new Ghostbusters film was showing yet.  It's coming soon and I'm excited to see it.  The Dominion itself is an excellent example of Art Deco architecture by Thomas Bowhill Gibson.  It opened in 1932 and has weathered the storms of fashion in which other cinemas have been lost.  It looks even better lit up at night. 

Among its many flourishes are a pair of beautiful stained glass peacocks flanking the main entrance.  This is one of them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.