A New Day

By ANewDay

Highland Stoneware

I was really struggling for a blip today, having spent most of the time lying flat or sitting down with a wheat bag strapped to my back! Not much opportunity to get the camera out:-) Just before our friends arrived this evening, I spotted this mug on the table and decided it would do very nicely.

This is a very beautiful mug from the Highland Stoneware pottery and was a present for my husband. However, it's not the first one he received, but a replacement. The original was bought in the Highland Stonewear shop in Lochinver, where we watched the artists painting various items with incredible skill. Sadly, my husband accidently knocked it into our granite sink recently and it smashed in several pieces. He was most upset, as it had been his favourite tea mug for a couple of years.

While on holiday in Inverness, I bought him this mug which has the same pattern, but no two are identical so it's not an exact copy. Harmony is restored at breakfast time, as he can enjoy his large cup of tea again (other mugs just didn't compare!)

Do you have a favourite cup/mug?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.