An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Beam me up Scottie!

Alan's support worker Vickie got a camera (a Canon but can't remember which one) for her Christmas and she is keen to take photos with "blurry bits" so she asked for my help today.

David laughed when he heard her asking because he knows my teaching method well...apparently when explaining something I start from a position of assuming the person asking already knows 2/3rds of the information required, thereby rendering them completely bamboozled within a minute of me opening my mouth.  He's not wrong.

That aside, after lunch Vickie and I spent some time together and I did my best to advise her. She's only used the camera on the automatic setting so far so turning the dial to AV was exciting for her.  She reminded me of when I got my first DSLR, every shot was an adventure and voyage of discovery.  I'm sure she's going to have great fun with it.  I checked her settings and ISO was fixed at 800 and white balance at tungsten so I sorted that and we chatted a bit about what the settings mean.  Will keep the exposure triangle discussion for another day :-)

Took the crochet squares from yesterday off the block and added a pile of new ones.  Need to start thinking about how I want to join them and the kind of border I want to put on the blanket but that's for another day.  I was too keen to get started on the practice painting for Agnes and start I have.  Woo hoo! :-)

I used to think practice paintings were a bit of a waste of time and took some of the spontaneity away from the proper painting, but having now done a few practice paintings, I have been converted.  I am happy with how it's going and what I've learned so far will allow me to approach the commission with greater confidence and an increased level of enjoyment.

Still no word about the results of my MRI or CT scans.  It will be nine weeks tomorrow since the pelvic MRI.  I have already spoken to the Gynae Consultant's secretary to chase up results but I will be phoning again tomorrow.  Will also phone GP to see if they have any result of the kidney scan.  I was told Urology would write to me directly but nothing so far, and it's been three weeks tomorrow since that scan (told results would be back in two weeks.)

Beef stew and D's world famous creamy mash potato for dinner, then an evening of more crochet while D was at his weekly group singing rehearsal.   Laptop has been dodgy again.  Very annoying.  Hope it's not about to give up the ghost!  D has got it working again so typing this very quickly incase it collapses again!

D FaceTimed me on his way home.  He had pulled into the entrance to Gleneagles as there was some fancy light display taking place.  It was amazing.  He got a fright when he first saw it as it looked as though the hotel was on fire and the lights looked like jets of water from high pressure hoses.  But when he got out of the car he could hear cheering and while we were FaceTiming we could also hear bagpipes, so knew it was fine.  

Just as well as we're having Afternoon Tea there on Easter Monday.  Really looking forward to it :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.