The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Gloucester in Grunge

Eastgate house, Eastgate street, Gloucester. I needed to do something about the flat sky, so I added a grunge filter Apart from the car models, we might be in another decade. Brutalist architecture reminds me of my geography book covers when I was 12. Or the place where I work now. The building we were in today and yesterday is light and bright, but the windows can't be opened because of the street noise, and there was no AC in yesterday's room. (Which is odd, because there was AC in the room next door). Anyway, lots of people work there, and it's lovely and brightly painted on the inside.  


The course was so boring, I wrote a poem about assisted dying while 'they' discussed why we wouldn't be covering it. (Hello, Switzerland! Save me some Toblerone, please. Or Truffles). If the course had been a bit longer, I might have been able to write my novel. 

Afterwards, I went to Eastgate covered market and M&S. Unfortunately it's true about some Easter eggs having doubled in price since last year. Apparently the cocoa harvest in Ghana failed. Actually it's cocoa harvesters I should feel for, it's their livelihood. I don't mean conglomerate farmers, I mean the people who pick the beans. We do not really need to eat Egg-shaoed chocolate on a particular day of the year. (Of course, if you're offering me one, that's a different story!)

Back home, I lay down and watched a documentary on Paramount. Later I found out I'd been excluded from Paramount because my sub has expired. I quit Apple, too, though I've got a couple of days left. But now Netflix has changed so I'll probably have to get my own sub. Maybe Disney  Star is better for the hard-hitting stuff? We are back to first-world problems. 

My mind is much on this thought line because I sat next to a guy on the course who is from Nigeria. His country's take, according to some of the religious leaders in Nigeria, is that mental illness is a form of demonic possession. He couldn't understand why we were talking so much about depression. He said that it seemed to him like a Western luxury. (Granted, he works with young people, and a report published  today says that young people in their twenties are more likely to be issued a sick note for mental illness than other age groups, so maybe he thinks they're slackers. It's a minefield. Please don't shoot me. I once went to the GP for a mental health reason, in my twenties. He gave me a tetanus shot. I then went to the Samaritans. After two days, I went back to work. But that was then). 

I did more of the jigsaw I watched another crime programme. I watched a talk about Hindu Gods. That was fun! The lecturer showed us his own temple in his home. By the time I went to bed, it was very very late. 










Af

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.