Mail to Messy

By Horomaka

Reflections on the Rail Trail

For the third day in a row I've made my way out of the valley, and it feels great.

After my day out with Daring2Go yesterday, it was Mrs Horomaka's turn to spring me from The Couch. A quick breakfast run to the Blue Duck at Motukarara was required (sadly our planned dinner there last night had to be cancelled due to lack of bookings) followed by a quick supermarket raid to Halswell in advance of some VIPs visiting this afternoon :-)

On the way to Motukarara I made sure I had my camera at the ready to capture some of the floodwaters at Kaituna - part of which is due to the extremely high lake level of Te Waihora/Lake Ellesmere, part thanks to the recent high rainfall.

This shot, taken once again from our speeding car, shows the Little River Rail Trail cycleway in its new guise as a causeway between the lake and the flooded paddocks on the levels.

Like all panos, I recommend the LARGE view...

As an aside, this has been one of the wettest months since moving to the Peninsula 11 years ago. June 2013 saw our rain gauge in the vege garden brimmed with a monthly total of over 430mm of rain, approximately a third of our property's total rainfall last year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.