Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

A wet and challenging day

It rained all day. It was wet and cold. Yuck.

One good thing is that I slept well last night,

I saw my GP this morning and a few tests have been organised to see if there is anything or nothing wrong with me.

This afternoon I did a supermarket shop. I did not expect it to be so stressful. Aldi was very busy, but a lot of fresh veg had been sold. I did a fairly big shop

There was only one checkout operating and the rest were self service tills. I decided to avoid the queue and go self service. That was a mistake. I had to have assistance 6 or 7 times. I have no idea why it kept hiccoughing.

I suddenly realised that I felt wobbly and upset. So much for doing well.

Then I went to Tesco to hand over Mum’s excess medication at the Pharmacy. Turns out that I had to open every packet and keep those and the information leaflets. I nearly abandoned the project, then stood my ground and emptied them one by one. It was horrible.

After that, I found strawberry napkins and bought lots for the funeral tea. Mum loved strawberries.

I was in Hexham to meet with the consultant responsible for Mum’s care in her last days. I thought it was important to feed back the problems I had getting enough pain relief for her and the difficulty contacting me when she had died (they were using an old phone number). He was very appropriate and suggests I speak to the nurses in charge too. It does mean reliving it, but I’d love to help prevent the same for others.

I called to see Liz for tea and supportive chat before going home. Thence to Margret’s for an evening meal. Delicious lamb shoulder.

What a day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.