Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Ringing siskins

Although my sleep was rubbish last night, today was a much easier day.

The start was a scramble because I did not wake up until 0830. Joan was coming at 9 to help me pack up Mum’s clothes. Karyn was coming to clean.

It took me a long time to wake and face the day.

Joan did her usual thing of getting on with the job. She had the clothes all bagged by mid morning.

I had a conversation with the solicitor about probate. Even though Mum’s estate is small and uncomplicated we need to go to probate. The solicitor’s fee is about £1,000 and there are probate fees too. I’m thinking of doing it myself. Has anyone else done that?

Sarah from next door came and brought me a crumble and custard.

Joan took all the bags to the charity shop and bottles to the tip.

I planned to sleep this afternoon but sorted out some things for the Order of Service. An Easter card arrived for Mum, indicating that I had forgotten to contact one friend. There may be more.

I went for a cold walk around the village and met a few of the choir who sang at Wallington today. I’ll start back next term.

Steve and Tina appeared to be having a cold Al fresco event. They were busy ringing siskins caught in their garden. In my blip you can see how they spread the wings and gauge the age from the different colours and size of the yellow stripes. My extra is a bird being weighed just before being released.

Margret called just as I was about to serve my evening meal. I had cooked a batch of chicken thighs, so she joined me. Very enjoyable.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.