carliewired

By carliewired

59 F/15 C

A long and tiring
day to get home and to just 
finally unwind

~carliewired

I had breakfast in Wenatchee, Washington at 7:30, then started on my last day of travel. Within minutes, I had crossed the Columbia River and turned north once again. 

My first stop was for the Beebe Bridge in Orando, Washington about 18 miles north of Wenatchee over the Columbia River. The reflections in water were beautiful as the river was so calm it looked more like a lake today. I saw my first robin of the season plus my first Canada geese. 

Across from the Beebe Bridge is the small community of Chelan Falls. I'd walked down onto a small pier to take the shot looking across the river. 

The Okanogan Valley leading up to the border is very much a fruit growing region. There are many orchards and vineyards along highway 97 north. 

It was a quick crossing at the border today. The Canadian agent asked three questions and I was on my way. 

On the Canadian side of highway 97 there are also an abundance of vineyards and orchards. I stopped for one quick shot. 

My next stop was Vaseux Lake along highway 97 near Oliver, British Columbia. It is also a provincial park for recreation. This lake supports an abundance of migratory birds on the Pacific Flyway. I saw my first mosquito of the year there. 

My last stop in sunshine was looking across Skaha Lake to the city of Penticton. The city is about 55 miles north of the US border crossing on highway 97 that I accessed today. 

From this point the weather deteriorated quickly. Huge black clouds arrived overhead as I was making my way to the 97 C to go west over the high level route towards Merritt, British Columbia. By the time I reached the Surrey Lake Summit (1717 m) it was snowing and the temperature was at freezing. Thankfully, it didn't amount to much. The rest of the route was bare and wet or bare and dry. 

I gave up on photos in the afternoon. It's too difficult to stop safely on highway routes and today the weather did not cooperate either. 

I made my turn near Merritt to run the last hour to Kamloops. Again, the weather threatened and I did see some snow again before I got onto the Trans Canada Highway just west of Kamloops. 

I was home enjoying my daughter's company by 4 PM. We've spent the rest of the day getting caught up with each other. I'm beat! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.