40 F

Winter lingers near
Snow and cold wind do not make
it feel like spring yet

~carliewired

I left Twin Falls with low, grey sky and snow lightly falling to drift in gusty wind. I was not encouraged at all to start, but by the time I got to Boise, Idaho, the sun was out and the wind had calmed. 

The journey today was on I-84. I don''t prefer the interstate highways, but they are well-maintained and there are rest stops available. They are a quick way to knock off the miles. It was bare and dry for the entire trip today.

Most of the route was through steep, rolling hills. The interstate skirted Boise, the capital of Idaho with 3 and 4 lanes in either direction. Much of what I passed was open range with lots of cattle in evidence. 

I arrived in Baker City about 1 PM. It was too early for a check-in, so I went looking for lunch. Being a Sunday, much of the services in the town were closed. I managed to find a restaurant. Food was really good. I drove on to the museum hoping to find it open but it wasn't. I got a couple of shots in the old downtown. Snow is still there in shaded areas. 

I would have had time to visit the Oregon Trail Interpretive Center a few miles down the highway, but found it is closed for renovations until the fall. D and I visited it in 2014 so I will attach that link here. The stories of immigration always interest me. 

It's just after 3 PM so I'm in for the night now. The sun is shining but the air and the wind are rather cold. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.