A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Easter Saturday walk.

What a glorious day, just what an Easter weekend day should be like. Sunny and warm with everything looking fantastic.

I took a few pictures in the garden before we headed up Goit Stock for a walk. The two Magnolias are looking good, the purple Susan and the main Magnolia Soulangia. Both have a bit to go but they looked good against the blue sky and you never know when that fatal frost may come! 

I wanted to see if the Wood Anemone’s were in flower along Harden Beck. They are (top left) but as ever out of the sun they are not open and in the sun they are easily bleached out in a photo. Lovely to see though and lots of celandines too. Sadly no Dippers this morning. 

Heading back to the village up Leech Lane I saw my first lambs. These two had just stood up, they were all enjoying lying in the sun. Think the one on the left had found the wrong mum she was having non of it!

Called at my son’s briefly and dead headed his daffs and then got a take away coffee at Yorkshire Treats and drank it in their outside seating area. Being right opposite our church I couldn't help but see out lovely ladies preparing Easter flowers for tomorrow’s service. The lady in the middle has donated all the flowers from our village garden centre and was responsible for the previous arrangement seen at Christmas. The display looks as though it will be spectacular! You can guarantee that it will be blipped tomorrow and not just by me!

Home for lunch and then some cleaning and tidying of garden furniture and patios. I hate doing the patios.  The top one I will leave the Forget me nots and Erigeron to flower and then pull out what I don’t want. The kitchen patio is more moss and weeds, I’ve made a start is all I can say!

(Sorry this is a bit long so miss this bit if you want. -
To my amazement my new passport was delivered at lunch time. I only sent for it last Tuesday. After seeing friend and blipper Yorkshirebred I decided to check my passport ( before it made the TV news this week.) I knew it didn’t expire till 2026 but it was issued in April 2015 quite a difference so I decided just to get on with replacing it. I used a Photo Booth we spotted in Durham. Having paid my £10 it rejected every picture. ‘You appear to be smiling’ ‘You appear to be looking up‘ - have you  seen how tall I am? No adjustment on the seat. But as I had paid I took them anyway, I’m definitely not smiling! 
Chanced my arm sending them off and they were accepted and I was kept informed every step of the way including today’s delivery. I’ll just not have to look at the 4 photos of this fierce looking grumpy old woman for the next 10 years. (At least I got ahead of the game.)

Don’t forget clocks go forward in the UK tonight 


Thank you all so much for the lovely comments, stars and hearts for my yesterday’s 14 year anniversary blip. I hope I’ve thanked you all individually, as always they are all greatly appreciated and as, I’ve always known, you are a lovely lot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.