Winsford

By Winsford

Opening

Unicorns (our national animal) were very much in evidence at the opening of the new museum in Perth.

A number of local groups, including Pitlochry Festival Theatre's Show Choir, had been invited to perform and so I went through with T and C&A from the choir. 

We were amongst some of the first visitors in and it was nice to wander around - I was especially taken by the Cairncross Gallery ( ;-) ). We were also able to see the Stone of Destiny. 

I thought the museum looked good and will be a valuable addition to Perth - although inevitably a number of people have been complaining about the cost.  However that many has come from a variety of sources, not just the council, and I do think it's important that the we continue to fund the arts & culture. When we arrived people were protesting about cuts to music tuition in schools - I sympathise with them especially as any cuts would disproportionately affect those from less well off backgrounds. 

Anyhow I look forward to future visits and studying the exhibits in more depth. The old museum is now an Art Gallery which is also worth visiting  

Today is also our 28th Wedding Anniversary. I dare say some champagne will be supped tonight just as we did 28 years ago (and many subsequent years). 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.