KatesGardenPDX

By KatesGardenPDX

Easter Preparations

A gorgeous day! I puttered around in my courtyard for a while and then decided to get a head start on the cooking for tomorrow. My son and the grandchildren are coming over, along with my sister, nephew and his 5 year old daughter. The cousins really enjoy seeing each other so we should have a lot of fun.

It’s a pretty simple meal - ham, potato salad, a composed salad of various spring veggies. And some lovely ciabatta rolls. I asked my ex to cut some red flowering currant branches from my old garden, which he brought over. I have a dozen or so decorative Easter eggs from years past…some probably close to my son’s age of 40! When I was a kid back in Massachusetts, my mom would force forsythia branches every spring for the Easter Egg Tree which was an annual tradition. I’ve been doing the same for years, but here in Western Oregon there isn’t a need to force flowering branches this time of year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.