carliewired

By carliewired

58 F/ 14 C

The "goose-buster" man
was on patrol this morning.
Geese honked and flew off!

~carliewired

I had a sleep-in until almost 8 this morning. (I'm becoming very lazy.) I got my cranky feet out the door and on the way to Riverside Park in the downtown in short order. 

It is a glorious sunny start to an Easter Sunday. Other than two young security guards and the goose-buster, I had the park to myself this morning. 

I could hear a loud roaring like a leaf-blower or a chainsaw as I walked to the pier. I spotted the goose-buster man close to the river. He was trying not to be observed. He beat a retreat towards the tennis courts as I approached. He kept looking back at me over his shoulder as I got closer. I'm sure he could see I had a camera. His job is to make noise to disturb the Canada geese that would happily take over the park. This gizmo he is carrying can be operated remotely as it goes across the ground to scare off the geese. He's probably taken some heat for his disruption so he left quickly when I showed up. Personally, I would thank him as the geese leave a filthy mess we can do without. The geese have many other options in this city. They don't need the park, too. 

I took my shots on the pier of my mountains and the river view looking north. I took note of the spring planters complete with pussy willows. The children's playground seems all intact. I took a look across the park to the Rotary Bandshell and the city behind it. It was only 5 C so a bit of a chilly start to the day. 

I'm home inside for the day. It will be eggs and asparagus with cheese sauce for dinner! 

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.