Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Celebrating a life

Today was a very special day when we laid Mum to rest.

It was a very wet, cold day and we started in the rather chilly crematorium chapel in Newcastle. I had chosen the slow movement from Mendelssohn’s Piano Trio No 1, played by our friends the Gould Piano Trio. At the end of the committal we sat while the whole movement was played. Sublime.

Back home and a quick tea/coffee and biscuits for the crematorium party. Everyone thawed out well. There were enough children to add liveliness to the proceedings and the road track came in useful.

The Methodist church at Haydon Bridge was packed. We had a service of thanksgiving and celebration, with typical Methodist singing.

I gave my “non Eulogy” using memories from various people about Mum. She had always said she did not want a eulogy so I had to find a way around that. People laughed at the funny bits and were a very responsive audience.

The buffet was delicious.

My walking friend, Lou, came to me at two different times to insist that I had cups of tea. I think she could see dehydration setting in!

My blip shows part of the only floral tribute with the cross Mum embroidered for this year’s Easter card.

It has all been amazing and overwhelming.

I have a box of donations for PCDC, a charity that provides aid to destitute children in Palestine. Mum has supported them for years. I will count the money tomorrow.

Last but not least, I want to thank you all for your lovely comments, stars and hearts yesterday. I hit the top of the Popular page, but I couldn’t have done it without you all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.