Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Hexham Abbey

I was in Hexham this morning to take a pair of spectacle frames to the optician. They will be fine to take the lenses for Mum's close up work.

I popped into the Abbey with my camera. It always feels quite warm in there. My blip is the stained glass in St Wilfrid's Chapel, a tiny chapel used for private prayer. 

Wilfrid founded Hexham Abbey. I was disappointed not to find more information about this window which was made in memory of the Kirksopps. I feel that I need a book when the web disappoints!

I was also unable to find out anything about the art installation in the Abbey. It appeared to be a sort of stations of the cross, with some very grim sculptures. Very odd. The Abbey pew sheet should tell me but has not been updated since early March. (Feeling a bit ranty today!)

From Hexham, I drove to Newbrough and had a very short walk in Crow Wood. When I first came to this area and lived in Allerwash Cottages, I used to walk in Crow Wood several times a week. It has the advantage of being flat which was good for me today. The wild garlic is in bud and the aroma is beginning to pervade the air.

Liz came and we all had a long chat this afternoon. Margaret (across the road) called this evening. She and Brian had just returned from their great trip to Antarctica. She was very excited and had no idea of the time (or even the day?)

It had been an terrific trip despite a hurricane!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.