Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Venturing into the big, wide world

I took myself out for a walk today. I'm leading a walk for the Intermediate Group in two week's time, so I needed to do a recce to check the route.

It was sunny this morning, quite chilly , but very pleasant. This afternoon, the sun disappeared and I was glad that I could move fairly quickly downhill, back towards Simonburn.

Up on the top, near Ravensheugh Crags, it was very quiet. Two tenant farmers are no longer there. One has retired and the other, very sadly, committed suicide. There are a few sheep, but they must belong to another farm. Usually, there would be cattle and a lot of sheep here.

It always feels very wide open, with long views in all directions. I found it eerily quiet today, although I was delighted to see and hear sky larks.

I like the way the lamb in my picture is wondering whether to walk away from its mother. No doubt it would scamper back if there was any sign of danger.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.