Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Family Dinner

(5/4/24)

Today is the end of the shorter work weeks that I have enjoyed/needed for the last few months. As always, there was lots to pack in before I switched off for the weekend. I couldn't code any invoices as the system was closed earlier than usual due to the way Easter fell this year.

My cousin Sarah (who lives here) invited us all for an evening meal. She originally chose a Lebanese restaurant, but it was changed at the last minute to an Iraqi restaurant. It was a fantastic change as G has wanted to dine here for the longest time. Having lived in Iraq, she wanted to eat a special Iraqi fish (Masgouf) ever since she discovered that you can get it in Dubai. It is large, so she's been trying to get a group of 6-8 people to join her.

The food and restaurant were great. Their location is excellent as well, looking towards Jumeirah Mosque. This Ramadan, it has been illuminated by a fancy light display. Clever projection highlights architectural features etc. It seems sacrilege to light up an elegant religious building like this particular mosque, but I guess it makes sense to someone.

We chatted for hours, enjoying getting to know our cousins better. I can't believe that I have two cousins called Sarah!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.