The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Other people 's houses

...so much neater than mine!

What a weird day. Storm Kathleen was still producing gusty winds, but with sunshine and showers. I had gone to bed late, but woken at the usual time. Tried to stay in bed but couldn't sleep further. Got up, had a bath, tried affixing the mouse mesh panels to the air bricks outside. Didn't have enough glue on the panels. My hands are too small to squeeze the trigger on the glue 'gun'. Steve came and helped. We stuck a panel on. It fell off. We applied more glue and tried again. Left it propped with some bricks. Went in again because it was windy and rainy. 

Made some home made granola while listening to Indian flute music to stay calm. I'm finishing Ruby Wax's first book on mental health, Sane new World, so staying calm and focussed seems important. 

GG came around . We chatted and then decided to go for a walk around the cemeteries, old and new. The old part is a nature reserve, and very nearby. We didn't feel like a big long walk because of the wind. We did a circuit, and then she left. I sat down to read Ruby again, but felt very tired. Forced myself to clean some shoes and put away some laundry, with the promise that I could go back to bed afterwards. Got into bed to embrace my tiredness, and fell asleep in the second-ladt page of the Ruby book! So in-kind of dozed and read, dozed and read, till it was time to get up again. I'd been invited to dine with some friends on the other side of town. 

Steve drove me there. AP was there too. We had a great dinner, then as AP was putting something away in her bag, she fell over and skinned her shin on a box. She made a great drama of it. We fetched a first aid kit and an ice pack, but she was still complaining about how she wanted This kind of plaster and not That, and how was she supposed to keep the ice pack on? I hope I never have to be with her in an actual hospital! 
It is worrying how often my friends fall over. I suppose I could send her the link to the Better Balance classes online, as she did mention the other day how many falls she'd had. 

Back home, I watched TV before deciding to turn in. While tidying up in the bedroom, I moved the door. Indie the cat, who sitting on a towel on top of the door, slipped with the towel and fell off. Being a cat, she landed on her feet, but that's two falls! She is an absolute numpty. Always sitting like an owl on top of something, staring down. 

Now I'm tussling. Ruby Wax says in her book that Mindfulness is proven to help with all kinds of health issues, and sanity. I'm doing a free 8 week online course on Mindfulness..Part of me keeps resisting the homework: thinks it's ok for me to do the course in my free time, but homework? Really? 
Another part is saying, yeah damn right you need to do homework! Practice is important. The scientific evidence on Mindfulness in in. I really will get calmer and less reactive if I practice. 
Those are just two of the arguments. I won't bore you with the rest. 


 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.