talloplanic views

By Arell

Epilogue

I'm not sure I've ever done so many miles in so short a time! Yesterday morning I was enjoying a wee swim and spa in sunny Portsmouth...and this evening, blipping chez nous 450 miles north.

For a little wind down after our week's touring, BikerBabe kindly rode with me as far as Lancaster – a nice hour or so up the motorway. While we oohed and aahed at the sadly inaccessible-to-the-public Pennine Tower of Forton Services, oft-blipped by @flumgummery in passing, I remembered an old slide photograph that Dad once took from the top, looking north. I showed it to BB (who has included it in her extras) and we recreated the view as best we could, albeit from the lower reaches of the pedestrian bridge.

After coffees and lunch we had our long "until next time!" hugs goodbye, and bestie BB and Biscuit took to the back road for the M6 home again. We will no doubt hatch plans for Sound Mirrors etc. pt2 at some stage. :⁠-⁠)

From Lancaster I powered north, staying resolutely at Biscuit speed and not warp factor 5 Fidra speed that, in all honesty, was more than my little brain could deal with for anything more than spirited overtaking. I was going to stop at perhaps Southwaite services, but the going was good so I thought perhaps Gretna instead, but I was keeping pace behind the same lorry for dozens of miles, then missed the off-slip and ended up stopping eventually at Annandale Water, by which time I was actually very tired, rather wet from hours of drizzle, and needing food and a drink and a jolly good stand up.

Fidra meanwhile was sipping fuel and had plenty in her tank to get me all the way home through the incessant drizzle and fading light, for a sit down, a well earned brew, and a phone catch up with the senior Flums.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.