talloplanic views

By Arell

And now, the conclusion

The first couple of post-holiday days are always a bit of an anticlimax, and since it was raining and blowing a gale all morning and most of the afternoon, I didn't go anywhere except the kettle, my bookcase and my computer, and sorted out all the hi-techery from the past few days and read about hovercraft history.

When I cycled the Erie Canal in 2009, my friend had an early Garmin GPS and he recorded the whole route we took.  I thought that was absolutely amazing, and a year later I bought myself this one not only to help tell me where to go but also where I went.  I've used the absolute heck out of it since, as you can see by the way I've worn the print off the buttons.  Although it's more a backup now to my not-a-phone GPS which runs the satnav app and a separate data logger app, it's tough and has a few tricks up its sleeve, like punching in waypoints on the move.  Buttons are still better than touchscreens when going by feel.

The top speed reported here I thought must be an imaginary number, but apparently I did reach that speed for a moment.  I was probably either trying to escape some tailgating driver or was in hot pursuit of Biscuit going at ludicrous speed.  I also had the Garmin running when we nipped over to the Isle of Wight, and the hovercraft was fairly shifting, too.

But the best number is top-left, and we have 1303 miles ridden.  Actually it was 1336 miles, because the thing went flat at some point.  But, good grief that's a lot of miles!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.