talloplanic views

By Arell

Wood and work

Amazing how the tide turns.  It's been a non-day today, of low energy and constant rubbish weather.  Tomorrow I shall be back at the controls at work and I'm not really up for it.

Whilst packing for my holiday I'd planned to take my camping cutlery – plastic, unremarkable, but durable – then discovered I'd left both my knife and spoon at work.  So what I brought was a mishmash of stuff.  In Lochinver in June 2021 at a craft fair I bought a combination spoon, spatula, knife thing that I called a spooknifetula, and a wooden knife to spread things with.  Both are hand whittled from birch with a linseed oil finish. I actually haven't used the former yet, but I took the knife with me because I like it very much, and it happily sawed through bread rolls and applied great quantities of peanut butter.

I did find a small amount of enthusiasm today to get out the sliding mitre saw, and I chopped up an old and rather nasty wooden chair.  It was in the house when I moved in and was rickety even then, and not that comfortable when actually being a chair.  I used it only for dumping clothes on, and it fell apart for the last time today.  It'll go into the woodburner soon enough.  I kept two of the spindles intact though because they were nicely turned and I thought I might make them into candlesticks one day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.