Grammy

By Grammy

Carpenter Bee

I stayed awake most of the night snuggling with Millie. She had trouble walking yesterday and I worried bad things were going to happen. This morning she was much better; hopefully I can sleep tonight. Hubby had a dermatologist appointment this morning. She always finds things to burn off. Once I was out of bed and breakfast eaten, hubby came home and we went out to start a project. My sister repaired and repainted a birdhouse Kim’s family gave me. We decided to put it in my formal garden. See my extra. My plan was to prune the butterfly bush and go in to pack for WV. Instead, I also pruned the beauty berry bush, got rid of all dead branches in my roses and blueberries and cleaned my two English irises beds. There were loads of bees on the blueberry bushes. This one is a destructive carpenter bee. Of course, we used our special glasses to watch the solar eclipse. It was at 86% at its local peak. I saw tv photos of the total eclipse. How fantastic was that. By the time I got inside, I had to quickly shower and get to Parker’s lacrosse game. It only took around an hour to get here so we get to watch the last quarter of the JV game. Our school is winning 9-2. We have leftovers from Olive Garden for dinner so we’ll have a quiet evening. Turns out the accident victims are friends with my daughter Kristen. They belong to our parish and the little girl goes to our parish school. The little girl is in an induced coma. So sad. We found out another young parishioner was driving over 100 mph this weekend, under the influence of alcohol, left the road and crashed into the back of a church. They had to amputate his leg. Hubby was with his father at our Special Olympics event the day before the accident. How quickly life can change. I am not sure what can be done to stop these unnecessary horrible accidents. Stay safe folks and beg your young ones to drive carefully. Thanks for visiting. "The bee is more honored than other animals, not because she labors, but because she labors for others." - St. John Chrysostom

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.