An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Blast from the past...

So, as mentioned on yesterday's blip, a few weeks ago I found DVDs containing our old home video films from 2003-2004 but couldn't find the device to let me play them on my lap top, but yesterday I found it.  What a trip down memory lane it has been!  

Started watching them last night and finished today.  I have laughed till I cried, then cried and laughed some more.  Alan is so tiny!  And to hear his laughter (he's always had such an infectious laugh) and blethers in his pre-teen voice is just amazing.  And to see Andrew and Jennifer so young, and our friends' children, Laura and Stewart, and our God-daughter Emily, running about during summer holidays, days away together and in our house and garden.  

As I watched all these little people running around, I could scarcely believe that Emily got married last year and my nephew Andrew gets married this July, and Laura (who I am making the cuddle blanket for) got married in Vegas in February and we will going her and her husband's celebration of their marriage on 4th May.  Where has the time gone?! 

Of course it was hilarious to see D and me too, and Ele and Kenny, Agnes and Adrian and Alan and Gail.  Our younger selves sporting dodgy haircuts and questionable fashion choices!  LOL!  But the best thing was seeing my mum, my gran and D's mum all large as life.  

One of the DVDs was of a trip my mum and I made to London in September 2003, and as it started playing her voice saying my name made me jump, and the floodgates opened.  I see photos of my mum, gran and D's mum every day, but of course never hear their voices.  

To see them moving and talking and laughing and generally doing all the funny and daft things they used to do, especially with Alan, was such a joy to see and be reminded of.  But the other side of that coin is the grief and sense of loss that comes along with those images too.  But I am so happy we have them.

I took some terrible quality photos of my laptop screen while the videos played and sent them to Ele and Agnes for their amusement.  Much laughter.  

When I finally dragged myself away from my laptop it was time to get some stuff organised for hour holiday next week (trying to be a step ahead)  and some cooking for the freezer.  Also got the vertical joins on the crochet blanket finished.  It's longer than it is wide so the horizontal joins shouldn't take so long, and I've got the hang of the joining stitch so I am a bit faster now. 

D phoned to rearrange Alan's CT scan and thankfully we don't have to wait long.  He also asked about sedation as Alan will need some sedation to allow him to lie still enough for the scan.  Apparently that's arranged via the GP and it's up to us to sort that.  D then phoned the Health Centre and spoke to a GP so they are looking into it.  Surely it shouldn't be the patient / parent's of the patient who has to coordinate this?!  

A pashmina and clutch bag I took a punt on and bought online to wear with the outfit I have for Laura and George's wedding celebration arrived today and I am delighted to say they are a perfect match for my top.  

I refused to spend a lot of money on them as it's unlikely I will ever use them again so I was delighted that they not only match, but look as thought they cost much more than they did.  Result!  :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.