Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

I HOPE SOMEONE SAYS "YES" TO THE DRESS!

After reading the comment made by CherryFlapjack on yesterday’s Blip, I decided I had better go up and see my wedding dress before it is, hopefully, sold!

I was due to meet a friend at 11.30 for coffee, so Mr. HCB suggested we went into Jack’s, which is just a couple of doors away from the DEBRA charity shop, so we did!

I think it’s probably fair to say that the model is rather a slimmer version than me, so despite offering myself as a “live model”, Sarah, the lovely Manager, and Wendy, her trusty assistant, said all the right things and I must admit, I walked out feeling good!  There is a price tag of £25 on the dress, so I do hope that they get this amount to go towards the DEBRA charity.

Before we left this morning, I did print off a copy of our wedding photograph and also the one I took on 6th March this year, 56 years later, just for interest’s sake really;  Sarah and Wendy were delighted and when we went back an hour later, we were both “in a frame” and in front of the dress.  

I did promise Sarah that I would mention the Duck Race tickets and Cakes Galore event, which is due to happen on Saturday 20th April, so I duly put this on the shot and we promised we would attend.  Apparently, the cakes are free - just a donation is acceptable, so I hope they get lots of takers - and eaters!  

Mr. HCB then took me down to the Town Centre where I met my friend, Nyamaa, who had just returned from a trip to Athens with her younger daughter.  She said they had a great “Mama and daughter” bonding time and having done the same thing with her older daughter a few years ago, I was so pleased.  

It was my first time out on my own since the fall, so after we had “talked the hind legs off a donkey” as we say, we took our leave of one another and I had a wander around a few shops and spent just a little on some medical essentials.  

I am putting in an extra to show the jigsaw puzzle, which Mr. HCB finished yesterday - and of course, he bought another one at the DEBRA shop - well, it’s for a good cause, as we often tell ourselves - so that will keep him out of mischief for a while.  It’s a 1,000 piece puzzle and fortunately, will fit on his special jigsaw table. 

Off to do some more decluttering now - Mr. HCB and I both agreed as we sat chatting in Jack’s this morning, that if we don’t sort things out and send them to our favourite charity shop, when we have “popped our clogs” it will just go into a large skip, so far better to do it now - Swedish Death Cleaning - as it’s called and thereby do some good for DEBRA.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.