THIS WILL TURN THE WORLD UPSIDE DOWN!

After another sleepless night
     I didn't look my best
          on this dark Sunday morning
as I walked through the garden,
     having just explained to
          two angels that my friend
who had been in the tomb
     had disappeared.

I was so upset - I know
     my eyes were red from crying
          and tears were running
               down my cheeks -
when someone
     in the garden
          asked me why I was crying!

How was it possible that
     someone else didn't know
          that one of my dearest friends
had endured an agonising
     and painful death,
          had been put in a tomb
and had then disappeared?

Thinking the shadowy figure
     was the gardener
          I asked where he had
               put the body so that
                    I could go and care for it.......
"Mary" he said quietly.
     WOW!
          I would know that
               voice anywhere!
IT WAS JESUS,
     my friend - what a shock,
          but also a wonderful surprise
               to hear His voice.
He was insistent that
     I didn't touch him so
          I hoisted up my skirt
               and ran.....all the way back
                    to the others.
Breathless...and with my heart
     beating so fast,
I managed to blurt out the words,
     "I HAVE SEEN THE LORD!
          HE IS RISEN!"
I'm not sure the disciples
     believed me but I know
          one thing for certain...
THIS will turn our world
e
d
i
s
p
u
down!


© Maureen Iles - Easter Sunday 09/04/23

P.S.  I took the first shot early this morning and then put the shots of the banners, taken at Church this morning, on as double exposures.  It was good to be back - although I couldn't sing as well as I would have liked - but given time...I will get there!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.