pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

King’s Lynn

We slept reasonably but I did wake a few times with someone too far over my side of the bed. I nudged his pillow over once and on another time put my hand over his face to stop the snoring. It did the trick and he turned over! It’s odd because the caravan is sloping towards his side, so I was expecting to be rolling in to him!

Anyway we didn’t suffer, and were up at 7.30. The fresh air had made us tired yesterday evening, so we’d been in bed by 10. So naturally not wanting to waste any of the day, i made tea. Then I was making our blueberry pancakes, not long after, which we really enjoyed for our breakfast. We followed this by a tidy up and then coffee and Belgian buns I brought will me. (They needed eating, and as Jon said, they were just the same as having toast after cereal. I didn’t need convincing!!

We were in the car and on our way to King’s Lynn by 10. I’ve been a couple of times, but Jon hasn’t. We headed for the old part, walked down near the water, then back into the town. Found a nice cafe called Smiths, where we had more coffee and more cakes!!! You’d think we were on holiday!

After coffee, it was about midday, we went to the museum. I have always wanted to see Seahenge, and it is here, along with a detailed description of the discovery, excavation, preservation and history. It is fascinating and off the back of our Sutton Hoo visit 2 weeks ago, a very much belated history dump for us both. The museum has lots more to see - I liked this little shop. I’d love a shop like this :-) The main photo with Jon is the upturned tree that was in the centre of the circle of trees. It is huge.

Some shops visited then we went to Pizza Express for a late lunch, which was nice.

Back to the camp site via Castle Rising, a lovely village. Such a contrast to King’s Lynn. I made us a prawn cocktail salad with the remaining prawns from yesterday, and we are now sitting outside in the dark. The solar lights have come on. Hooray! I’ve got blankets round me, plus a glass of wine because it’s Friday.

Happy weekend everyone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.