Friends...

My friends really do know everything about me and yet they love me anyway.

WARNING: DO NOT LOOK AT THE LUNG LINK IF YOU'RE EASILY GROSSED OUT AND BE GLAD IT'S OUT OF FOCUS! IF YOU'RE A DOCTOR, CAN YOU PLEASE LOOK AND TELL ME WHAT THE FUCK IT IS AND IF YOU'RE NOT AND YOU LOOKED ANYWAY THEN DOH! AND YOU'RE WELCOME!

I spoke too soon yesterday because this morning I did actually cough up an actual piece of what I can only describe as looking like part of my lung I showed it to nurse FilthyTwitcher (much to her disgust) and she educated me into realising that I didn't know the difference between my epiglottis and uvula when she said uvula to me I thought she was calling me a fanny - I think perhaps she was! as I'd googled epiglottitis and it said if left untreated it could be fatal!! I almost had a heart attack reading that and figured I just wouldn't go to sleep in case I suffocated myself. Clearly I should have looked at the pictures first!!

Note to self: self diagnosis on google will never be a good idea!

I've no tonsils and the thing hanging down at the back (official name UVULA - NOT U VULVA) was so swollen when I got up this morning it was sitting on the back of my tongue which pretty much felt like I needed to retch with every breath. Could I be any more attractive?! So I ate ice cream for breakfast and that seemed to take the swelling down and it certainly beat Nurse FT's suggestion of gargling with salt water. Mint choc chip every time!

Now I feel better than I did this morning, hopefully there will be no further coughing up of lung like shit and I'll be able to go back to work tomorrow.

Anyway... friends... in times of hardship they're there for you for whatever you need. I've said before and I'll say it again, I'm incredibly lucky that I have such good friends. Our crowd are rallying round for Gem in her time of need and it makes my heart swell that I have such good people in my life. We're all incredibly saddened by the loss of Neil but I know that Gem will be okay with the right support from the people who love her.

"Promise me you'll always remember: You're braver than you believe, and stronger than you seem, and smarter than you think."
A.A. Milne

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.