Winsford

By Winsford

Dachaigh

My journey home yesterday didn't go according to plan, which was to get the ferry from Armadale to Mallaig and then a train to Roy Bridge where T would pick me up.  I checked to make sure the ferry was running - it was - and so walked down to catch it.  There were quite a few other people who had been doing short courses and some were also planning on getting train. We then found out it was cancelled. Urgh !  We started searching for alternatives - there was a later train, there was a service bus to Fort William but others going south offered lifts to Fort William. KM who me and two other a lift was going onto to Edinburgh and kindly agreed to take me all the Pitlochry. 'S e gaisgeach a th'ann !. We dropped off J&C at Morrisons in Fort William to use the loo (as you do) only to find most of our fellow boat passengers there. That must be the quickest re-union on record. We had a coffee with two other students and it was good to chat about different strategies/resources for learning Gaelic before heading south. I actually got home earlier than I would have if my plans hadn't gone awry !  

Other students had earlier offered my a lift down the road but I had booked my tickets and was looking forward to going over the Glen Finnan viaduct. Another time - although in future I will wait until day of travel before booking tickets. 

Today has been spent getting unpacked, sorting out notes and catching up with admin. The later included claiming  or rather trying trying to claim a refund on my train ticket under Delay Repay.  The Scotrail website for this is very poorly designed and didn't seem to have an option for mobile tickets when you hadn't activated them.  I filled out form as best I could only to be told it required further information whereupon I did discovered an option for mobile tickets.  Grrr.

Anyhow I had a great week - so much so I have already booked for another week in the summer.  This time I was going over material which I had already covered in  An Cùrsa Inntrigidh to consolidate it, next time I will be covering material which I will be doing on An Cùrsa Adhartais which I plan to start in late August.  I also have a  shorter summer school in June to look forward to. Who needs holiday- holidays when you are retired. 

In other news: my anemones are out. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.