KathyH58

By KathyH58

Cornelian cherry

I had to go to Truro today to pick up some plants for a customer, I want to get his spring planters done this week. It was foggy with showers while driving there. When I got to Truro the fog started to life and the rain stopped for a couple of hours. It meant that I was able to stop at the Rock Garden to see some of the spring color.

The Cornelian cherry blooms before it gets leaves. It's not a common tree. People need to see it blooming for them to want one.

I continued on to Masstown Market and was pleasantly surprised to find most of their bakery shelves filled. After 3 years of covid and another year for them to get their full staff back, plus they had to rebuild their bakery kitchen after it was damaged in a hurricane, they must be finally running at 100% now. This store is always busy. They have a bakery, they sell freshly made sandwiches and ice cream. They have a deli, fresh fruit and veggies, groceries, a garden center, and a gift section. It is a destination for many people who are travelling in that direction. They also have a seafood restaurant in a separate building that is shaped like a lighthouse. Across the road, they opened a butcher shop and creamery. Last summer at the creamery they were selling a grilled cheese sandwich with blueberry and maple in it. It was messy, but oh so good.

When I left Masstown I checked the weather on my phone and it said rain starting at 1:45. It was 12:15 then. I had thought about going to visit a waterfall in the area. I looked at the sky and thought that the rain was going to start sooner, so I decided to head for home. When I got back to Truro I decided to get off the highway and take one of the side roads home. I am glad that I did because it was heavy rain for most of the drive. I kept my speed down around 60 - 70 kph. On the highway people would still have been going at 110 and it wasn't safe to do that speed.

I am hoping for some drier weather this coming week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.