SparseRunner

By SparseRunner

Klaksvík

I was up by 08:30 and, after breakfast, when walking over to the library to return A' book, I decided that I'd get a taxi to the airport, rather than take a further hour and struggle with two cases on public transport. At home, after adjusting a few things between my bags, I worked my way through a chapter of M's thesis. Then I put up the washing, emptied the dishwasher, had lunch, did the washing-up, took out the rubbish recycling and compost, and still had time to hoover the bathroom and upstairs landing before 14:00! 

The taxi arrived on time, but we had to go via Silverburn, because Lowrie's Den was blocked by timber operations. It took a long time to check in my suitcase, an aspect of travelling that I've not missed! In security I wondered whether anyone thought I was stealing as I collected three laptops and a tablet from the conveyer! 

The flight was smooth, and there were a few views and some sunlight through breaks in the clouds. The photo is of Hestur. Having changed my SIM card on the plane, I had enough data to take the Turf zone at the airport, but then it stopped delivering data. I then found the guy from "Bil" taxis, who drove me to Tórshavn. He was amazed that I'd come for five weeks - because of the weather - but laughed when I said I was from Scotland. When we arrived at the ferry terminal, a bus had come in from Klaksvík. The driver said that he'd be leaving for the return journey "in an hour". However, no longer having data, and there being no WiFi at the ferry terminal, I couldn't find out precisely when. That said, with my two cases there was little I could do but wait where I was. The Klaksvík bus didn't have WiFi, so there was not a lot I could do when it went dark. I'd also failed to download Google maps for the Faroes.

Navigation to the apartment shouldn't have been difficult, but I'd failed to discover that the place I'm staying isn't on Garðavegur, but between it and the street above. Hence I started to doubt which street was Garðavegur! I hailed two guys in a van who looked up the route on Google maps, and said "Oh, you're very close!" - as I knew I was! 

The apartment is excellent, and the forecast for tomorrow is poor.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.