SparseRunner

By SparseRunner

Snow

When I woke, there were breaks in the cloud lighting the hills across the fjord, and I took this photo. My apartment is the "basement" of the white building on the far right, and I have most of this view from inside. The right-most hill is Klakkur, that I climbed with A last summer. It was spitting with fine snow when I took this, but it stayed fine for the half hour it took to go down the hill, buy groceries and get back. An hour after that it had clouded over, and steady light snow fell for a few hours. Nothing stuck at town level, but there was a pretty scattering from about 400m up.

After an excellent chat with our research assistant J, the weather had improved, so I went out to stretch my legs. It only took about 5-10 minutes to get to the end of my area of Klaksvík, and I was rewarded with great views of the islands of Kunoy and (distant) Kalsoy, as well as the coast of Borðoy - the island on which Klaksvík is situated.

Back in the apartment, I had a meeting with a young French researcher who was wanting to ask questions about HiGHS. Her technical English wasn't great, and it was frustrating that I don't have the technical French to provide an alternative explanation. I think we communicated well enough in the end.

Now I'm cooking my first meal - on an induction hob that is taking ages!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.