SparseRunner

By SparseRunner

Glorious

It's been a beautiful spring day here: sunny, with light winds, but 4°C. I'm behind with my marking, so I resisted the strong temptation to have a day in the hills. I don't think I've mentioned, but I'm here for five weeks, with the plan being to work on the many dull days, and play outside on the good days. However, I cracked just before lunch, and went for a walk - across Klaksvík to the "park". It's a steep conifer plantation with two streams running through it. It was busy with what looked to be a primary school outing - making the most of the good day, I guess. There are few turf-roofed buildings in Klaksvík but, in the lower part of the park there is a shelter. 

I walked back through the centre of the town. I've got five KÍ (Klaksvíkar Ítróttarfelag) football games to see, so I felt justified in buying a replica shirt. At the sports shop next to their ground there was a Manchester United shirt in the window and, inside there were also LFC shirts on sale - the two biggest English clubs, whatever anyone from London might say! However, I had to go to another sports shop to get a KÍ shirt. By then I was close to the Føroya Bjór brewery - the main Faroes brewer and distiller - so I went into their shop to buy a 6-pack. I took this photo from their carpark. It looks straight down the fjord to the island of Kunoy. For context, the peak (Suður á Nakki) is 703m.

Since I was hungry, I called in at Fríða Kaffihús for lunch. There are fine restaurants in Tórshavn, but this is the best place for café food that I know in the Faroes, and it didn't disappoint. On my way home I called in at the supermarket for groceries that I'd forgotten yesterday. Then it was back to work. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.