Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Bullfinch

I began my walk today by going to look for the nuthatch again.  In fact I saw both of them, but moving terrifically fast so the shots weren't up to much.  I've put the 'best' one in Extras.  What I did see to my delight, though, was a male bullfinch.  I haven't seen one on the reserve before - in fact I haven't seen one anywhere for a very long time.  Once a common bird, apparently their numbers have dropped by 40% since the late 1960s, so perhaps not a great surprise.

Other news from the reserve is that the sedge warblers are back in numbers, though sadly the part of the reserve where I blipped them most last year is still closed because of floods and flood damage to paths.

It's been a bit cold and windy for most of the day, but the sun's been wonderful.  And it is, infact, K's birthday, but she's spending the day with her partner so we've agreed to move her family birthday to tomorrow.  Always in favour of birthdays that last more than one day ;)))

Have a great evening  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.