Ridgeback13

By Ridgeback13

Hope

Awake for a while in the night but not too bad and I decided to get up slowly and take it easy today. I feel a bit better than yesterday, definitely not so poorly, and it was cheery to see lovely blue skies and sunshine which luckily stayed all day.
I spent almost all morning doing digital housekeeping on P’s accounts and talking to various people to sort his care costs, death certificate collection, etc. These things take forever! Also did a clear up of the kitchen and a quick hoover round of the flat so it feels less chaotic, and even managed to adapt a necklace into a bracelet that I’ve been wanting to do for ages. A real sense of achievement!
Had time to read some papers before going down to (what I thought was) a lunchtime meeting preparing for a committee next week. Had a good chat with J but no lunch, so I had a very late bacon sandwich when I got home at nearly 3! The walk there and back had been lovely and I felt buoyed up by seeing the sunshine and blossom around St Andrew’s Square on the way.
Spent the afternoon sorting our hotel out for before the funeral (even the bookings person admitted their website was terrible!), arranging a meet up with some friends of friends visiting from California later this week and writing lists. Took a fancy for chicken schnitzel and coleslaw for supper after seeing someone make it on instagram, and before I started making it I had a chat to K which made her want to eat it too! We sent each other photos of our finished efforts later. Chatted about her Mum’s recent fall and her step-dad’s blood pressure tests, my work on funeral arrangements, cruises, Greece and books we’re reading.
As I cooked, I chatted to T and then A…they both like to phone when they’re driving for some company!
A quiet evening catching up on the TV programme on a new dig at Pompeii…fascinating! I love anything about Pompeii and Herculaneum.
I have a few more things on tomorrow so hope I continue to feel better again and get a good night’s sleep.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.