A Study in Swan

If I could...I would post a swan, or any other big bird...every day.

Of course, I would have to change the name of my journal. Something like Swan Lake, Swantastic, I Just Swanted to Say..., and...for you old western watchers...Swanted...Dead or Alive.

It was hard to go from all the choices yesterday at the Toledo Zoo...to my downtown pond. But, luckily, the keeper of the pond was there. The king of the river...the top river dog...the pond pretty boy.

He was clearing out his space. "HOW DARE YOU DUCKS GET SO CLOSE TO ME!!! GET OUT YOU GANDERS! MOVE AWAY YOU MALLARDS! HEAVE HO...YOU HERONS!"

He was such a good poser that I just kept snapping away. A few other shots are on my SWAN FLICKR PAGE.

At least 2 crazy animal things are on my bucket list. To get chased by a moose in the Maine woods, and to get attacked by a swan. Both things can hurt you...can really mess you up.

After a couple hundred pictures...I finally got the "swan hiss." The question became...back off, or press forward to be able to mark it off my bucket list?

I'd like to report that I stuck out my chest and softly said..."You swant a piece of this...do you really swant a piece of this?"

I backed off. The flying swan elbows will have to wait.

In the picture...he is chasing off a duck...not me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.