carliewired

By carliewired

64 F/ 18 C

A chilly start to
a spring day - we can hope that
the day warms up now

~carliewired

I was at my grocery store when it opened at 7 AM. The temperature was - 1 C, but the sky was clear and blue. 

I'd heard yesterday on our national radio, CBC, that an art installation was going in at the edge of the airport runway. It is a memorial to one of our Canadian Snowbirds who died tragically here. I managed to get a quick photo of it as I was heading to Tranquille. I told the story of Captain Jennifer Casey in this previous blip. The site is still in the construction phase with the official opening coming later. 

I drove on to stop across the road from the wetlands pond with a view to Tranquille. My surprise this morning was finding a pair of sandhill cranes walking around the pond. Usually I've seen them in large flocks so it confused me to see this pair. I got a shot of one before they soared off across the pasture. 

I was very pleased to find a pair of osprey on the nest. I cannot understand how a power pole is a comfortable or safe place to raise a family, but it seems to work for osprey. 

At the same time, I could hear meadowlarks singing all around the grasslands. One perched in a tall tree above me so I was able to get a couple of photos. 

On my way home I passed the city's composting facility. It appears that someone left the sprinklers on there so the fence line was an art piece by Jack Frost. 

I will have a couple of errands to run today, otherwise I will happily be at home. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.