carliewired

By carliewired

68 F/ 20 C

A morning so much
better than was promised by
our weather forecast

~carliewired

I was expecting glum weather so I made no efforts to get up and out early. The sunshine startled me at 7:30 so I was on my way in short order. 

I decided I would go to Pioneer Park near downtown. The area was under construction last year so I tended to avoid it. Somehow, today didn't look any more promising. 

The perimeter of the parking was fenced off with signs at the entrance to keep people out. That made little or no parking for drivers. Both the tennis club members and the boaters were active this morning so they were needing parking as well. I drove around looking for a parking space. finally settling on a space that I wasn't sure was 'legal'. 

I walked down the boat ramp to the South Thompson River. The water level is so low that the river looks more like a series of ponds. I got a shot looking west to the Red Bridge. Then I looked east towards Highway 5. 

I walked back up the ramp and over the rise into the park. I counted only five other people besides myself. I got another shot of the bridge.

Canada geese set up a loud protest as a dog chased them off the beach and into the river. The dog's owners seemed to encourage the behaviour, letting the dog set off again at another pair of geese. Where is a policeman when you need one? There are laws protecting wild fowl that some people obviously do not understand. I got a photo of the offending couple and their dog. 

I'm hoping to have a quiet day at home to sort some jobs and make a pot of soup. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.