Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Good news and bad news

Rang the surgery bang on 8am. I was number 2 in the queue, and got an 8.50 appointment. I asked what the next appointment was, and she said, 'That was the last one'... incredible!

When I was with the doctor, I asked if she was in all day, and she said yes, but in the afternoon she was 'on duty' - emergencies, house calls, record keeping. So that explains it...

I told her the pills aren't working. The only thing she could suggest was to double the dose to the recommended neurological one. OK, let's try that. 

It was so sunny when I came home that Archie and I sat out in the front garden. Hazel came by on the way to the gym, then Pip and his mum popped in for a chat. (Loved the way he was sitting). Abi is going to South Africa very soon to do the trip we did last year.

A good friend popped in with some bad news. Her brother is at present undergoing chemo after a major operation, and now her sister has bowel cancer, and is going into hospital next week. She will be spending her time going between the two hospitals, which are at opposite sides of the city. I have got nothing to complain about!

I lay down on the sofa while JR took Archie out and then went into town. I dozed and half listened to Radio 4 all afternoon. Then the post came. Quite exciting, because I've been waiting for weeks for an item, and when I opened it, it was NOT the item I ordered!! How did that happen?

But the other item was good - I have an appointment with a neurologist at last. That's only been a wait of 7 months. Could be worse.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.