Teasel

By Teasel

What do you call a man with a seagull on his head?

It’s been a much busier week than I had anticipated it would be.  An urgent request awaited me in my in box.  Luckily a  meeting was cancelled, which freed up  some time.  We met the ridiculous deadline though.
 
I bumped  into an old friend at the coffee bar in the office, which was just lovely.  She’s not often in Edinburgh, but was through for a meeting, so had made a plan to meet up with a couple of our former colleagues for lunch.  She invited me along – but alas my day was too busy.  Next time maybe.
 
I did manage to find twenty minutes to pop out at lunchtime which was good, as I spent all afternoon in a workshop.  We weren’t sure what to make of it – but I didn’t have long to think about it as I had a load of stuff to clear, before I logged off. 
 
I bumped into a friend on the bus on the way home – her daughter is the same age as BB, but just so more switched on and organised.  I don’t think she believes me when I talk about BB – and generally about what he hasn’t done!  I got home to find BB cooking a lovely pea and paneer curry – just what I needed – good comfort food.
 
Later I went for a wee walk, and tried to chat to BB about his last proper day at school – I got very little information on this!
 
The answer is Cliff of course – though this statue is actually of Adam Black.  Google tells me that this is Adam Black (1784-1874) in his robes as Lord Provost of Edinburgh. He was a liberal politician and reformer, at a time when parliamentary reform and suffrage was at the top of the political agenda.  Blacks, his publishing house, acquired the copyright for the Encyclopaedia Britannica, and in 1851 bought the copyright for Sir Walter Scott's Waverley novels.  The statue was designed by John Hutchison RSA (1833-1910).

I will have walked past this statue hundreds of times, but never knew who it was.
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.