Teasel

By Teasel

School’s Out Forever

A momentous day here.  It was BB’s last day at school.  Leavers day for the S6s, though there is still the small matter of exams to be done.
 
He was up and out far earlier than on any other school day, as a group of them were meeting at a friend’s house for breakfast – what I didn’t realise until much later is that there were about thirty of them – maybe more.  They were all fed and watered, then on to school for a morning of fun, culminating in a ceilidh and a buffet lunch with the teachers.
 
Meanwhile, I took some time to get myself going this morning as I was feeling rather tired.  I popped out to the co-op for a couple of things and then to the pop up bakery, where I waited in the usual Friday morning queue.  Thankfully it was sunny.  I then eventually got myself organised to go out for my usual five mile run.  It was a lovely morning, bright and sunny, and not too windy – though the bit of wind we did have was rather chilly.  The paths and tracks are starting to dry up at last – though there are still some significant puddles around – and everything is starting to turn green, with fresh young leaves appearing.
 
In amongst all this I was having my usual Friday washing fest, making good use of the lovely day.  Just when I thought I had cleared the washing baskets, BB came home from school, soaked (there had been a water fight) earlier than In had expected,  and filled the washing basket up again.  He’s gutted he still can’t play, but he headed over to North Berwick to watch his team play this afternoon.  I went down to town, as I had a few things to do and a couple of gifts to buy.  I wasn’t long home, when BB reappeared.  His team hadn’t done very well. 
 
Later I cobbled a quick tea together.  BB was off out with friends, celebrating the end of school.  I’ve no idea when he will return!
 
After TT and I had eaten,  I took up residence and ended up watching the Pet Shop Boys night on BBC2.  I’ve always liked them and saw them live many years ago – and they were fabulous.
 
End of an era – the last school shirt washing.  Friends kept asking me if felt emotional about BB finishing school.  I genuinely didn’t, until  later in the day when  I read the letter they had been given from the Head Teacher, and then I saw the messages scribbled on his school shirt – and one was from a girl he went to primary and secondary school with, saying we’ve been together since day 1, P1 –  13 years of school!  I hope they remain friends.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.