carliewired

By carliewired

72 F/ 22 C

That brilliant sunshine
woke me up this morning so
I had to get out! 

~carliewired

I was on my way to McArthur Island at 8 AM. The sun is dazzling this morning, so I cannot waste it. 

I drove around the loop to the south side where I get views of the Thompson River and can look across Rabbit Island's trees to the city. I got a shot of my mountains from the south side. 

I was looking for marmots, who don't seem to be in great supply so far this spring. Those that appear are very timid and cautious. I was standing on the Rivers Trail looking over the river when one marmot emerged just below me. He seemed to freeze on the spot when he saw me so I had time to get a photo. 

The Canada geese seem to be everywhere. They were occupying the playing fields this morning. No doubt the fields will be well fertilized today. 

I witnessed my first goose attack along the Rivers Trail. A young man in gym clothing was jogging along with his headset on. A Canada goose suddenly flew at him almost hitting his head and knocking him off balance. The young man did not see that coming! He staggered back and laughed in embarrassment. He proceeded with great caution past the angry goose. 

I got my last shot of a marmot sitting up looking into the sunshine. I'm hoping the colony is surviving. 

I'm at home with my list of jobs. There might be a trip to the nursery for some bedding plants this afternoon. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.