Incredibish

By Incredibish

Deer Hunter

I was delighted to read in today's local news that a new herd of fallow deer were being raised at Dyrham Park, and had been released at the end of last week. Of course we took ourselves down to the estate...

The National Trust staff smiled as I prepared my camera at the entrance. 'Oh, they're still very skittish, and no-one's seen them yet this week. Enjoy the 270 acres of parkland, but you'll not see any deer.'

The grass is long, which it never was when the herd roamed the park. It was simple to find deer tracks, droppings and swathes of disturbed grass, and before long I spotted these two in the shade under some trees.

I look forward to seeing many more as the herd gains strength. As an aside, do remember the date... if George came to England now - and he never did come to England - he'd be on a flight to Rwanda by tomorrow

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.