I Witness

By KangaZu

Wild Wednesday ...

... cutie chippy!

Shortly before I got up this morning I heard Richard in the living room yelling at something to "STOP"!  I thought he was yelling at the cats as they will sometimes get after each other.

But when I came into the living room a few minutes later he told me that there had been a red fox in the front yard.  And, sadly, he/she had gotten one of the squirrels.  :-( 

We had learned just yesterday that there is a family of foxes living just up the street ... with four young kits.  So it was only a matter of time when something like this would happen.  But it still saddens me as you all know how much I love the squirrels.

Thankfully, my little chipmunk seems safe for now.  But I will still worry about all of the wildlife over the next few months.  I'm hoping the foxes won't stay around for long and will soon move on to another location.  Until then we will be extra vigilant and careful where we put the food for all the wildlife ... including the birds.  

Other than that ugly start to the day it was lovely ... especially the weather.  I sat outside before lunch and ended up taking over 250 pictures all before 11:30 am!  I've added into Extras another shot of a white-throated sparrow.  These beauties will soon be migrating out of our area ... hopefully to be replaced with the gray catbirds and hummingbirds!  They should be arriving any day now.  Fingers crossed. 

We did have to run to Best Buy this afternoon in order to get a new cable modem as we have been having trouble with the existing modem.  I haven't realize just how expensive these are!  Wow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.