SparseRunner

By SparseRunner

Flag

There was light rain in the morning, and the covering of overnight snow in the hills soon melted. I went outside my front door to take this but, otherwise, I stayed in all day. Work was dominated by exploring ways of channelling funding for HiGHS through the process that is most likely to return a result for the donors. I also spent an unnecessary amount of time trying to persuade J of the right way to develop their code. I guess it's a sign of the times when 40 years of experience in a field and "being the boss" doesn't matter when a young person believes they are right. I had an hour's meeting with MPhil student M, who agreed that I was right on J's development issue. 

Today is Flag Day in the Faroe Islands, celebrating the day in 1940 when "the British government, occupying the Faroe Islands during World War II, approved the flag for use by Faroese vessels." There's no sign of any particular activity in Klaksvík, but maybe there's something in Tórshavn. British occupation during the war is also responsible for the Faroese preference for Cadbury's chocolate and some of their enthusiasm for fish and chips.

After eating this evening, I had a brisk walk to the park and back. There were perhaps a few more flags flying (see extra), and the supermarket was closed when it would normally be open but, otherwise, there was no sign of any special events. In the centre I was asked a question in Faroese, and when I said that I didn't speak it, was then asked "Where is Café Fríða?" I could immediately point to it, and say that it was good and still open. It made me feel like a resident.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.