Look Out

By chrisf

“Stur” …..

…..as the locals seem to call the main town in these parts. My sister gave me a tour of its highlights this morning - the Exchange (the arts centre she manages), the river and Mill (open today), and the parish church. My first visit to the Exchange was yesterday, an excellent presentation by Megan McCubbin, and my BiL has been there this evening again showing the film One Life. There are 4 paid staff and 60 volunteers, it wouldn’t operate without the efforts of the latter (my BiL is one of those).

My sister is on leave this week supposedly but has been in for meetings and to do things and has been sorting issues out remotely. She’ll be up at 5am on Saturday as it’s the venue for giving 2500 75+ year olds their Covid booster jabs. Walking around this small market town she seemed to know a lot of people, I lost count of the number of times I was introduced as “this is Chris my brother”.

The image is taken at the base of St Mary’s, the parish church. A mix of bluebells, forget-me-nots and red campion, set against the lichen coloured limestone walls I think it looks impressionistic.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.